Raised: CHF 51'500
Web Designer 10%

Rare Trait Swiss (008.727.799/01) is a tax registered non-profit organization with a mission to develop a cure for AspartylGlucosaminUria (AGU), a genetic neuro-degenerative disease. 

We need to raise $2 million to manufacture the medicine for a clinical trial taking place in 2022 to cure this disease and we currently need your help to raise CHF500,000 to secure the manufacturing.

Contribute to stop AGU

What is AGU

Aspartylglucosaminuria or AGU for short, is an ultra-rare genetic disease belonging to a group of lysosomal storage disorders. Lysosomes are cellular compartments containing enzymes, responsible for the final (cellular) breakdown of fats, proteins and sugars.
A malfunction of this enzyme leads to the physical and neurological disease manifestations.

This means that their body is not producing an important cellular enzyme. AGU kids are born healthy and happy. They develop and learn skills normally. As the disease progresses and waste builds up in their body, between the ages of 2 and 5 years, the first signs of the disease start to appear.

Life expectancy is from 25 to 35 years of age. Young adults typically die from infections. Prior to death, AGU causes intellectual disability which progressively worsens in adolescence. Most people with this disorder lose much of the speech they have learned and affected adults usually have only a few words in their vocabulary. Adults with AGU may develop seizures or problems with movement. There is currently no approved treatment for AGU.

Rare Diseases facts

A disease or disorder is defined as rare in Europe and in Switzerland when it affects not more than 1 in every 2,000 persons.
Many rare diseases have genetic origins. They are often life-threatening or result in chronic invalidity.
Many appear at birth or in early childhood, while others don’t emerge until patients are much older.

The fact that a rare disease affects only a small number of people means that there is little specialist knowledge available. Patients, and their physicians, are geographically far apart.
For this reason it frequently takes years or even decades for the condition to be diagnosed correctly.
Since they are so rare that there is little or no awareness of them, people suffering from these diseases often encounter a lack of understanding. This can lead to social isolation and result in major administrative obstacles

Cure & Gene Therapy

Diseases can be present from birth when someone is born with a defective or missing gene. Alternatively, someone can develop diseases during adult life due to a gene mutation or change, which can disrupt correct protein production. Gene therapy is an innovative process that involves the introduction of a gene into cells to compensate for a missing or defective form of a gene.

This gene is inserted into a patient’s cells through a vector, which is genetically engineered to be able to carry and deliver the gene into cells. If the gene injection is successful, the new gene can replace a disease-causing gene, help the body fight a disease, or turn off a gene causing problems. The gene called AGA is not working in a body of a child who has AGU. This means that their body is not producing an important cellular enzyme. Gene replacement therapy (GT) can be used to deliver the enzyme to the human body. It is a long and expensive process to develop a successful treatment. While working on GT, we funded the development of a Chaperone therapy. This keeps the children with AGU healthy and stops the progression of disease deterioration.

Where does your money go

There are a lot of steps involved getting a treatment to clinical trial. We are in the process of finalizing the location of the clinical trial and identifying and retaining a project manager with research experience to manage the Investigational New Drug process with the FDA and establish the treatment protocol. The money we are raising will be used to cover expenses associated with the preparation for and conduct of the clinical trial. These include travel, lodging and meeting fees, drug manufacturing, testing (safety, biodistribution and kinetics), clinical fees, hospital fees, clinical research organization costs (data processing) and related costs. It sounds like a lot, but we are actually SO CLOSE!!! We anticipate needing to raise US$3million and we hope to raise CHF500,000 of that here in Switzerland



Our Mission Statement

Support medical & scientific research for AGU- rare disease
Promote the care & treatment recommended by the medical and scientific community
Fund a clinical trial intended to cure patients suffering from this disease.
Be a resource of information for AGU families and any individual who wish to be informed about AGU.
Raise Public awareness about the problems of cure, prevention, and diagnostic families are facing.

Support Rare Trait Swiss

We are currently looking for financial support and volunteers Please contact us if you wish to make a vital impact .

Aspartylglucosaminuria (AGU) is a rare genetic disease that slows down child development in primary/middle school. It is one of many lysosomal storage disorders. About 200 children and young adults around the world have this rare genetic trait that also makes them nicest, honest, most helpful, sweetest people ever! 

However, it also slowly takes their lives away. Up until now, there has been no established cure for the disease. It was first described in the 1960s and yet no cure has been found.The disease is very well described and documented with only one thing left to do: Manufacture the CURE!!!

These Kids are desperately waiting for their treatment. Our goal is to raise 2,000,000 in total to produce the medicine for the gene therapy that will stop this fatal disease

Levé : CHF 51'500
Concepteur Web 10%

Rare Trait Swiss (008.727.799/01) est une organisation à but non lucratif enregistrée au service cantonal des contributions et bénéficie du status d'exoneration. Notre mission est de développer un remède contre AspartylGlucosamineUria (AGU), une maladie génétique neurodégénérative. 

Nous devons collecter $2 millions pour la fabrication d'un traitement et pour preparer un essai clinique qui aura lieu en 2022 destiné à guérir les enfants atteints de cette maladie. Actuellement nous avons besoin de votre aide pour en collecter 500,000 CHF afin de garantir fabrication de ce medicament.

Contribuez a stopper l'AGU

C'est quoi l'AGU?

L'aspartylglucosaminurie ou AGU pour faire court, est une maladie génétique ultra-rare appartenant à un groupe de troubles du stockage lysosomal. Les lysosomes sont des compartiments cellulaires contenant des enzymes, responsables de la décomposition finale (cellulaire) des graisses, des protéines et des sucres.
Un dysfonctionnement de cette enzyme entraîne des manifestations de maladies physiques et neurologiques.

Cela signifie que leur corps ne produit pas une enzyme cellulaire importante. Les enfants AGU naissent heureux et en bonne santé. Ils développent et acquièrent des compétences normalement. Au fur et à mesure que la maladie progresse et que les déchets s'accumulent dans leur corps, entre l'âge de 2 et 5 ans, les premiers signes de la maladie commencent à apparaître.

L'espérance de vie est de 25 à 35 ans. Les jeunes adultes meurent généralement d'infections. Avant la mort, l'AGU provoque une déficience intellectuelle qui s'aggrave progressivement à l'adolescence. La plupart des personnes atteintes de ce trouble perdent une grande partie du discours qu'elles ont appris et les adultes affectés n'ont généralement que quelques mots dans leur vocabulaire. Les adultes atteints d'AGU peuvent développer des convulsions ou des problèmes de mouvement. Il n'y a actuellement aucun traitement approuvé pour l'AGU.

Faits sur les maladies rares

Une maladie ou un trouble est défini comme rare en Europe et en Suisse lorsqu'il ne touche pas plus d'une personne sur 2000.
De nombreuses maladies rares ont des origines génétiques. Ils mettent souvent la vie en danger ou entraînent une invalidité chronique.
Beaucoup apparaissent à la naissance ou dans la petite enfance, tandis que d'autres n'apparaissent que lorsque les patients sont beaucoup plus âgés.

Le fait qu'une maladie rare n'affecte qu'un petit nombre de personnes signifie qu'il existe peu de connaissances spécialisées disponibles. Les patients et leurs médecins sont géographiquement éloignés.
Pour cette raison, il faut souvent des années, voire des décennies, pour que la maladie soit diagnostiquée correctement.
Puisqu'elles sont si rares, qu'elles sont peu ou pas connues, les personnes souffrant de ces maladies rencontrent souvent un manque de compréhension. Cela peut conduire à l'isolement social et entraîner des obstacles administratifs majeurs

Traitement et Thérapie génique

Les maladies peuvent être présentes dès la naissance lorsqu'une personne naît avec un gène défectueux ou manquant. Alternativement, quelqu'un peut développer des maladies au cours de la vie adulte en raison d'une mutation ou d'un changement de gène, ce qui peut perturber la production correcte de protéines. La thérapie génique est un processus innovant qui implique l'introduction d'un gène dans des cellules pour compenser une forme manquante ou défectueuse d'un gène.

Ce gène est inséré dans les cellules d'un patient via un vecteur, qui est génétiquement modifié pour être capable de transporter et de délivrer le gène dans les cellules. Si l'injection de gène réussit, le nouveau gène peut remplacer un gène pathogène, aider le corps à combattre une maladie ou désactiver un gène causant des problèmes. Le gène appelé AGA ne fonctionne pas dans le corps d'un enfant atteint d'AGU. Cela signifie que leur corps ne produit pas une enzyme cellulaire importante. La thérapie de remplacement génique (GT) peut être utilisée pour administrer l'enzyme au corps humain. Le développement d'un traitement efficace est un processus long et coûteux. Tout en travaillant sur GT, nous avons financé le développement d'une thérapie Chaperone. Cela maintient les enfants atteints d'AGU en bonne santé et arrête la progression de la détérioration de la maladie.

Où va l'argent

Il y a de nombreuses étapes à franchir pour amener un traitement à un essai clinique. Nous sommes en train de finaliser le lieu de l'essai clinique et d'identifier et de retenir un chef de projet avec une expérience de recherche pour gérer le processus de recherche d'un nouveau médicament avec la FDA et établir le protocole de traitement. L'argent que nous collectons sera utilisé pour couvrir les dépenses liées à la préparation et à la conduite de l'essai clinique. Ceux-ci comprennent les frais de déplacement, d'hébergement et de réunion, la fabrication de médicaments, les tests (sécurité, bio distribution et cinétique), les frais cliniques, les frais d'hospitalisation, les frais d'organisation de la recherche clinique (traitement des données) et les coûts annexes. Cela semble beaucoup, mais nous sommes en fait SI PROCHE !!! Nous prévoyons avoir besoin de lever 2 millions de dollars américains et nous espérons en collecter 500 000 CHF ici en Suisse



Notre Mission

Soutenir la recherche médicale et scientifique pour la guérison de cette maladie
Promouvoir les soins et traitements préconisés par le corp médical et scientifique
Financer la mise en place d’un essai clinique destiné à guérir les patients atteint de cette maladie
Être une source d’information pour les familles de patients atteints d’AGU et autres personnes physique ou morale qui souhaitent s’informer..
Sensibiliser l’opinion publique et les pouvoirs publics aux problèmes de guérison, de soins, ou de prévention de cette maladie rare

Contribuer avec Rare Trait Swiss

Nous recherchons actuellement un soutien financier et des bénévoles. Contactez-nous si vous souhaitez avoir un vital impact.

L'aspartylglucosaminurie (AGU) est une maladie génétique rare qui ralentit le développement de l'enfant à l'école primaire / intermédiaire. C'est l'un des nombreux troubles du stockage lysosomal. Environ 200 enfants et jeunes adultes à travers le monde ont ce trait génétique rare qui en fait également les personnes les plus gentilles, les plus honnêtes, les plus utiles et les plus gentilles de tous les temps! 

Cependant, cela leur enlève lentement la vie. Jusqu'à présent, aucun traitement curatif de la maladie n'a été établi. Elle a été décrite pour la première fois dans les années 1960 et pourtant aucun remède n'a été trouvé.La maladie est très bien décrite et documentée avec une seule chose à faire: Elaborer le REMEDE!!!

Ces enfants attendent désespérément leur traitement. Notre objectif est de recueillir $2,000,000 pour mettre point le remède de thérapie génique qui arrêtera cette maladie